top of page
Search
  • tylerhannay8

August, the month of racing, racing and more racing

This Month, I have raced 3 national series race up to now which were Cadence, Bath road race and the junior tour of Mendips, each with differrent results and feelings going away after each race. A highlight from this month has to be winning my first junior national stage at the TT on the first stage of the junior tour of the mendips around odd down cycle circuit. I was glad I was last off as the early starters seem to be quite congested with lots of riders on the course and probably off putting but I was happy with my ride as I gave everything I had.


Unfortunately my luck ran out on stage 2 with a puncture and whilst I was stopped, I was rear ended and took about 5 spokes out of my wheel and when I looked up the racewas in one line trying to catch the breakaway so that ended my GC chances. I decided to hold my head high on the last stage and go for avengance on the final stage. I attacked from the gun and followed a move which i did not think would work but 6 of us were away at the start of the 112KM stage and decided to collect the KOM points to try and salvage something from the weekend. Around about 50KM to go, I looked down and couldn`t see anyone on my wheel so I thought, Hail mary lets go for it.Looking back now it maybe wasn`t the best decision but if you never try you will never know and I always racewith my heart on my sleeve and I was unfortunately caught 500m from the line with my first expierence of bonking or hittig the wall but as I did not have a parent to provide extra nutrition but what can I do and I hung on for 5th on the stage after 112KM out front and 50KM solo.


Hopefully I can carry this good TT and climbing form into next weekends infamous Junior tour of Wales, arguably the biggest stage racing for juniors especially in the UK.


Massive thanks to Pedal Potential who`s supported is unrivaled especially for someone like me who has to travel mulitple trips to each races

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page