top of page
Search
  • tylerhannay8

Junior Tour of Yorkshire

On June 12th, was the first junior national for me in 2021, the Junior Tour of Yorkshire organized by Giles Pidcock and Co. This one felt like a special one as it was the first national for 14 months and for some lads, their first race in over 2 years.


I felt like I had ideal prep going into the race except acold a week before but that set me back a little more mentally rather than physically. I travelled down to Harrogate on the friday tocheck out the roadsthat were used in the 2019 World Championaships and they were mega andreally cool and gave you a little buzz whilst you were riding them. I like to do between 60-90 minutes on my preraceride to open the body up after travel, after that it was pasta and feet up whilst watching the euros.


Stage1 was a 4 mile rolling road bike TT, I planned to pace it to power to try and not blow up after thefirst mile, I did a good warm up of 30 minutes getting the body and mind ready and off I went, with these events you never know how your going but I could see my 30 second man so that gave me some confidence and he actually ended up coming 23rd so I was on for a better day that I thought. In the End that gave me 3rd on the stage and on GC, I was very happy with that being my first national podium and only 5 secondsdown on the winner.



Stage 2 was only 3 hours after so recovery was the main component to worry about but oncewe got out their on the 100KM stage, the heat was amajor factor 20+ degrees with not much shelter. I was active in the first 30/40 minutes but no one wanted to let anything get away. My team mate Zac Walker was moving up and I let his wheel go and Away he went and went to take 2nd on the stage and I camein 13th but unfortunately cramped so a little disaspointed but still 3rd on Gc so was content.


Stage 3 was a lumpy 95km stage, you could see from the off Lads were cagey but others wanted to save thier legs after feeling the fatigue, I tried again for the first hour but nothing got away afer I realized I was too closely marked and it was gonna end up in a bunch sprint I decided to go for the KOM jersey, I thought I had it but was trying to do mathsin my head whilst going Full gas. The race ended up in a bunch sprint was a little bit sketchy but I came in 17th so was happy.


Overall,from the weekend I was happy to have come 3rd overall and won the KOM jersey as it was my first national podium in a oneday and a stage race, hopefully I cancarry my form onto Cicle Classic and Otley.



Big thanks to pedal potential for their support especially being from an island where travelis a major factor so it is very much appriceated


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page